Friday Favourites

This week has been a good one. I’ve finally finished exams and my second year of university and have been celebrating by inducing myself into a ginger beer-infused slumber and catching up with friends. I’m going on holiday tomorrow on my first ever solo trip to Riga, Latvia and I can’t wait to nourish my starving soul with culture, adventure and relaxation. I’m in a summery mood as I’m finally free for summer and have been enjoying the little things that are the big perks of this season. This is what I’m digging this week.

Cans of Pimms 

fri

There is nothing that says summer to Brits more than a glass (or pitcher if you’re feeling cheeky) of Pimms and lemonade. I picked up a four pack of ready mixed Pimms cans from the fridge in Tescos for £5, which were perfect for hitting the park straight away. I sat under a tree with my book and a couple of cans in the sunshine. It was the perfect way to spend an afternoon. They’ve also been a great compliment to doing my social media planning this week. For those of you who aren’t familiar with this drink that Brits go mad for, Pimms is a fruity liqueur that is served with lemonade, ice and fruit on hot summer days. Though as Summer is a rare reality in Britain the supermarkets practically stock it the second the temperature goes above ten degrees. I love the stuff and I’m not really sure how I’ll deal without it on year abroad.

Impulse’s Why Not? by Charlie XCX

impulse

I love Charlie XCX and I love Impulse so this was a no brainer. In truth I bought it because I liked the cool packaging, but the smell is wonderful. It’s fresh, not too florally and with a hint of fruitiness. It’s my go to for when the heat gets me all sticky.

Panic! at the disco 

I’ve known about Panic! for years and have always been an appreciator of Brendan Urie’s face, but this week I’ve properly got into them, as they came up on a YouTube playlist and I’m in love. I’m going through a bit of heartbreak at the moment and their blunt lyrics resonate so deeply with me. I’m currently obsessed with their latest album “Death of a bachelor”, there’s some fantastically powerful tunes on there, but my favourites are “Gospel” and “Girls, Girls Boys” from their “Too weird to live, too rare to die!”album. His vocal range in “Gospel” is just so rousing and the emotion in Girls,Girls, Boys” just gets me, as does his performance in the video. And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that he’s topless.

Chai Tea

chai

I’ve been a lover of chai tea for a long time, but this week I found an authentic blend from the international supermarket opposite my house and my god it’s good. It’s so spicy and flavourful and is the perfect beverage to wake up with. I think I’ll be bringing about 20  boxes to keep me going in tea deprived Germany.

Introduction to Buddhism book

book 1

I bought this book a couple of years back when I was first interested in converting to Buddhism, but I’ve only just got round to reading it. I’m only a hundred pages in, but I’m already taking on the practises of mindfulness and I definitely want to devote a good amount of time to converting and practising Buddhism.  Mindfulness has got me through a gritty exam season, as by focusing on the moment you can’t be stressed, upset, angry etc. as they’re not relevant in the current moment. It has done wonders for my outlook. Now I have more free time I plan to read up more on the subject and work out how to lead a Buddhist lifestyle in the western world.

I hope you enjoyed my Friday favourites this week. What have you enjoyed this week?

Let me know below!

Until next time,

Love

Stella

xxx

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Just Me says:

    Hey 🙂 I am interested in the Buddhist lifestyle too.. I’ll be inerested in reading about your experience. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. StellaSays says:

      Hey there and great 🙂 I’ll be doing some more blog posts on it soon. Let me know how you’e getting on with it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

